The Music Man

Summer Musical

Book by Meredith Willson and Franklin Lacey, Music and Lyrics by Meredith Wilson

Directed by: Bill Haas

Music ManAugust 6-9, 7pm at the Hutchinson High School.  Doors open at 6:30pm

Tickets are $15 adult and $10 youth.

About the Play:

Staged in 1912, the plot concerns con man Harold Hill, who poses as a boys’ band organizer and leader and sells band instruments and uniforms to naive townsfolk before skipping town with the cash. In River City, Iowa, prim librarian and piano teacher Marian Paroo sees through him, but when Hill helps her younger brother overcome his fear of social interactions due to his lisp, Marian begins to fall in love with Harold. Harold, in turn falling for Marian, risks being caught to win her.

This play contains many well known songs you are sure to recall and enjoy!

In 1957, the show became a hit on Broadway, winning five Tony Awards, including Best Musical, and running for 1,375 performances. The cast album won the first Grammy Award for “Best Original Cast Album” and was number one on the Billboard charts for 245 weeks.

Tickets are non-refundable.

Cast of Characters

Traveling Salesmen:

  • salesman # 1 – Zachary Gonzales
  • salesman # 2 – Cody Luhmann
  • salesman # 3 – Ben Jenum
  • salesman # 4 – Brett Haugen
  • salesman # 5 – Ty Roger

Charlie Cowell – Patrick Walsh

Conductor – Allen Benusa

Professor Harold Hill – Mike Martin

Newspaper Readers:

  • Newspaper Reader # 1 – Dustin Luhmann
  • Newspaper Reader # 2 – Lawrence Winter
  • Newspaper Reader # 3 – Cody Muench

Mayor George Shinn – Brad Burch

The Quartet:

  • Ewart Dunlop – Kari Evans
  • Oliver Hix – Mark Muckenhirn
  • Jacey Squires – Brian Wilson
  • Olin Britt – Nathan Schmalz

2 Workmen – Dustin and Cody Luhmann

Farmer & Wife – Bret Haugen and Blake Dodge Marcellus Washburn – Jason Coyle

The Wa Tan Ye Girls:

  • Olivia Walsh
  • Madeline Ritch
  • Kayla Williams-Schwarze
  • Rachel Haugen
  • Caroline Stromming
  • Stephanie Chastek

Tommy Djilas – Robert Leonard

Marian Paroo – DeeAnne Hartsuiker

Mrs. Paroo – Mary Haugen

Amaryllis – Sarah Puder

Winthrop Paroo – Nick Haugen

Eulalie Mackecknie Shinn – Lori Thul

Zaneeta Shinn – Sam Rudy

Gracie Shinn – Marit Walsh

Alma Hix – Kim Schutt

Maud Dunlop – Julie Puder

Ethel Toffelmier – Elizabeth Slipica

Mrs. Squires – Sarah Redekopp

Constable Locke – Lawrence Winter

Library Dancers:

  • Abby Patrick
  • Cody Muench
  • Ty Rogers
  • Elizabeth Gehlen
  • Anna Stapleton
  • Tatem Slepica
  • Blake Dodge
  • Zachary Gonzales
  • Dustin Luhmann
  • Naomi Coyle
  • Ben Jenum
  • Cody Luhmann
  • Robert Leonard
  • Sam Rudy
  • Jessica Haugen
  • Colin Drahos

River City Townspeople and kids:

  • Allen Benusa
  • Anastasia Benusa
  • Laurie Goodwater
  • Meridith Tavary
  • Holly Tavary
  • Emily Redekopp
  • Catlin Hartsuiker
  • Summer Nomeland
  • Brooklyn Ernhart
  • All of the Wa Tan Ye Girls
  • All of the Library dancers
  • All of the boys in the boys band

River City Boys Band:

  • Nick Haugen
  • Noah Coyle
  • Zach Gonzales
  • Ty Rogers
  • Cory Muench
  • Ben Jenum
  • Robert Leonard

Cast list descriptions

This activity is funded, in part, by a grant from the Southwest Minnesota Arts and Humanities Council (SMAHC) through appropriation from State Legislature with money from State’s general fund, and it’s arts and cultural heritage fund that was created by vote of the people of Minnesota on November 4, 2008.